Social Media

Welcome, Guest
Username Password: Remember me

HELP! 944 wouldn't start, now starts and dies.
(1 viewing) (1) Guest
  • Page:

TOPIC: HELP! 944 wouldn't start, now starts and dies.

HELP! 944 wouldn't start, now starts and dies. 12 years, 4 months ago #12946

• UFfitz56
  • Comp School
Hey guys, I have a frustrating problem with my spec 944 and I thought I would ask your advice before throwing more money at the problem. Trust me I have searched all the internet forums for the common 944 non start issues but I know you guys might be able to point me in the right direction since I'm new to 944's in general.

Ok so the car has been sitting in my garage for quite a few months, but every few weeks I'll start her up just to run the engine for a little. I have never had a problem and surprisingly it has always started up on the first try without a single hiccup. But this most recent time all it would do is crank but not turnover. Which is weird because what could have possibly changed all of a sudden?!

So my first step was to see if it was getting any fuel. A quick loosening of the fuel rail screw and it seemed to be getting fuel. Next I used some starter fluid in the intake and it runs for a min. I also had tach bounce so I figured my speed and ref sensors were good.

So my next step was to order a new DME relay and fuel filter. While I waited to shipping I switch out the DME with a spare I had and all of a sudden the car would start! But..only for a few seconds and it would die if you gave it any gas. What's weird is now I have NO tach bounce...As soon as I start cranking the tach stays at 3k. This leads me to think I messed up some wiring under the hood or under the dash when fishing around and changing out the DME. If I put the old DME back in I don't get any tach bounce like I did before but it still won't start.