Social Media

Welcome, Guest
Username Password: Remember me

20 Heat Cycled R888?
(1 viewing) (1) Guest

TOPIC: 20 Heat Cycled R888?

20 Heat Cycled R888? 14 years, 10 months ago #4860

NOT!

First off, I would like to apologize to everyone for bragging about how I was able to get 16+ out of them and still have PLENTY of grip. While the tire still had tread, still had grip, still seemed to have more life in them, I guess they didn't. I picked up almost 1.5 seconds switching to a new set and had a car that was more controllable, predictable and more competitive than it was the previous day. I am sure everyone already knew this info about the tire, but I am new to the R888 and never ran on the RA1 so I had nothing but my own new experiences to compare them to.
Now lets get those 205/50-15 RA-1's approved for competition so we can get down to business.
MICHAEL MADUSKE
2009,2010 Southeast 944-SPEC Champion
Last Edit: 14 years, 10 months ago by mcmmotorsports.

Re:20 Heat Cycled R888? 14 years, 10 months ago #4863

I have a set with 16 HC on them. I will get 20 from them since my next track day is a test day. As best I could tell my lap times were consistant with where I needed to be on the 16th HC. My home track is PIR I have run that track so much I can tell very quickly when tire go off. There are 2-3 spots on that track where you feel it first since you can't carry the same speed. HC 16 seemed just fine. I can't say HC 17 will be ok, but I was happy with 16. Last time my tires went out at HC 13. I could feel them going alway. I put them on for a 14th HC and I was clear they were toast. I got one decient lap time in, but it was on the edge and trying to get another lap like that was risking a wreck. So I parked it. My tires current tires after HC16 both look better and are were ok.

So
Set 1 (RA-1 camber settings) - from full tread
HC = 12 - Still good
HC = 13 - Good at start then went away
HC = 14 - Gone very slick and unable to hold track