Username Password: Remember me

New member & new build
(1 viewing) (1) Guest
  • Page:

TOPIC: New member & new build

New member & new build 15 years, 9 months ago #1905

• Schumi
  • Drivers Ed
Hi guys, my name is Mike Eckert. I'm from the Pelican boards and reside in southeast Missouri. Just picked up an another 87 924S to build into a trials/spec car in addition to my other 87 924S which I have owned for about 3 years now. Just started prepping the tub and will be pulling and rebuilding the engine next month.

I'm not quite new to racing... I'm an engineering student and have worked on rally car chassis preparation, open wheel single seater formula cars, raced karts, etc.. but I do not have a club racing license. That's hurdle number 1 after I get the car prepped and ready for some DE's.

I am probably going to be looking for suggestions on things coming up as far as a cage, seats, etc. This is a low budget project. By low budget however I do not mean skimping on safety. I just may not be doing some of the more pricey suspension upgrades right away- the key is getting prepped car in time to get my license.

But to start off I guess I have one big question-

The 924S comes with 6" phone dials normally. These must be upgraded to 7" wheels all around for the spec tire? If so, they are just bolt on, or does this require fender rolling? I have seen a lot of 924S's in the field so I figure this is a common problem..

I'll post pictures of my build progress soon. I am in the middle of stripping the tub of sound deadening goo and working on electronics.

-Mike
Last Edit: 15 years, 9 months ago by Schumi.

Re:New member & new build 15 years, 9 months ago #1906